HotHands: The Savior of Winter

HotHands?

HotHands are probably THE best tool for the winter angler, hiker, or snowshoer. HotHands are essentially handheld packets that “contain a mixture of natural ingredients that when exposed to air react together to produce heat.” These packets can fit in most any pocket or glove, and now even come with adhesives to stick to various parts of the body. They can “produce heat anywhere from 100°F to 180°F for duration of 1 to 20+ hours,” which can turn any frigid day in the outdoors into a more enjoyable venture.

Why use HotHands?

Have you ever been out on the water in the middle of winter? If you’re fly fishing, you probably aren’t wearing much in the way of gloves. Whenever your hands are exposed to the crisp air or you have to dip them into the frigid water, your hands feel like solid ice. Not only is this uncomfortable, it can be dangerous. Without keeping hands and other extremities warm, you run the risk of losing said extremities and possibly suffering from hypothermia. By using HotHands, you can dramatically reduce the risk of suffering from discomfort and injury.

How do I use HotHands?

I should probably be clear here and state that HotHands doesn’t just mean heat packets for your hands; HotHands come in a variety of sizes and shapes, tailoring to warming various parts of the body. Some are meant to be held in a hand or pocket, while some are curved to adhere to a sock for your toes, and some are large and square-like to adhere to clothes on the chest or kidneys.

Each style of HotHands come in a sealed package. Once the package is opened, the packets begin to warm up with exposure to air. It may take a few minutes for any considerable heat to be felt, but once they are hot, they may stay warm for hours. Put ’em anywhere you want to keep warm-and I mean anywhere!

Tips on using HotHands

1. Open some HotHands and put them in your pockets BEFORE you need them

As you string up your fly rod or strap on your snowshoes at your vehicle, rip open a package of HotHands and throw them in your coat, jacket, or waders pocket to warm up for when you need them.

2. Put an adhesive pad on your kidneys

The kidneys filter blood and thus have a fairly steady flow pumping through them at all times. Because they cover such a large area on your body, placing an adhesive HotHands on the kidneys can promote the pumping of warm blood throughout the body.

3. Put an adhesive pad on the inside of your hat

It’s surprising how much heat that can be lost through your head. If I’m really cold, I’ll sometimes use an adhesive HotHands pad on the inside of my hat. Just be careful putting one of these pads close to your skin.

4. Bring more than you think you need

I always throw more HotHands in my pack, vest, or duffel bag than I think I will need. It’s quite the inconvenience to run out on a chilly morning.

5. Keep spares in your vehicle

I’ve had times where I forget to restock on HatHands before leaving for a trip. I’ve saved myself from freezing by having spares in my truck. Throw several different sizes and varieties under your seat or in a side pocket. Trust me. It’s worth it.

Testimonials

I asked several people about why they use HotHands during the winter for their outdoor activities and these were their responses.

Jesse Mena, @hesse_mena:

“Self-explanatory on… how to use them… you open up the package that the angels have bestowed upon you and you tear it open. And then you shake the hand warmers as if your life depended on it, because it just might. Then you put one in each coat pocket to keep your fingers from freezing off. You put one on your chest to literally warm your soul and [it’s] optional… to put them [on] your toes and hat to keep from getting cold feet and a cool head! They are the best things to keeping your spirit warm while catching fish and having to constantly get your hands wet from either stripping line or releasing fish!”

Emily Lewis, @runboston59

The following is directed at me

“They keep me warm when I get cold. You’re always dragging me out before the crack of dawn to sit in the freezing dark and go hunting. Usually it’s miserable until the sun comes out, but with the [HotHands] I can strap them to my body and generate enough heat to keep me from catching pneumonia and coughing too much to scare away the deers and elks and bears.”

For more background on Emily and I’s outdoor adventures, check out “My Better Half

Keeping your spirits warm

I hope this article may either support your decisions to use HotHands or persuade you to utilize them in the future. I could probably add this to my list of “Comfort Items” for wintertime outdoor activities. Try some HotHands the next time you head outside in the winter months.

3 thoughts on “HotHands: The Savior of Winter”

  1. I and my sons have been using them for many years. I purchase a new case every couple of years and keep my vehicles including boat and packs full. You can never have too many in the weather.
    Great advice…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I rarely go anywhere without them. They’ve truly changed how I spend my time outside during the winter months. I like your idea about putting them in the boat; I’ll have to do that on my drift boat. Thanks Jim!

      Like

Leave a comment